Skip to content

Hocus Pocus

January 6, 2011

I was going to write about a serious issue, maybe the role of the media in police investigations, maybe the possibility that detention orders will soon be no more.  However, I really should be writing an essay and those posts would require a lot of thought and a bit of research before I would be happy to press publish. So when I saw this little gem near the bottom of the Guardian’s front page I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to try out the ‘Press This’ button I have neatly installed on my bookmark bar.

Romanian witches to cast anti-government spell | World news | The Guardian.

I can’t decide if I’m more enchanted by the commitment to superstition and spiritualism  that clearly thrives in Romania, or disgusted at the government’s attempt to exploit that in order to raise money. I’m sure tax evasion is an issue that needs to be addressed, but why mess with witches? Fools.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

