Skip to content

Wandering mind.

October 13, 2010

I’m having one of those days where I just cannot concentrate on anything for more than 5 minutes. I have a poor concentration span at best but today is ridiculous. I have a total of seven  browser tabs open and music playing. If I closed about half of these tabs and went through reading them individually I would probably get a lot more done but no, instead I’m just flicking through all of them. I’m writing this in the hope that it will give me some focus, even though I haven’t got anything  specific to say. I could head over to  bbc news and look at some articles for a politics post but that would involve yet another tab, which rather defeats the object. I really need to do some course related reading too.  Argh.

About a month ago the Guardian ran a couple of articles about the theory that the internet is altering our concentration spans and rewiring our brains. I definitely think there is some truth in this. I probably need to take a step back from the internet and spend more time doing real life things but its just so easy to have the laptop on in the background whilst reading or cooking etc and it pulls you back in.

I’ve had a meal idea in my head for a couple of days and I think tonight I will actually make it. It’s not that I’ve been eating other things instead I just haven’t had a proper dinner. Probably in compensation for the amount of junk I ate over the weekend, my ex friend (still not used to calling him that) visited for a couple of days so I adapted to his eating habits.

Here’s the wonderful Charlie Brooker on the subject of the internet rotting our brains, he is literally my dream man, I am so jealous of Konnie Huq:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2010/sep/13/charlie-brooker-google-instant

And I believe this is the other article I was thinking of :

http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2010/aug/15/internet-brain-neuroscience-debate

Both worth a read and I may try and get hold of the book mentioned in the second article to look into the topic further. If I can manage to read it.

I opened another tab to find those links. Bugger. Someone save me.

No comments yet

Leave a comment